Facebook offers the option to memorialize or delete a profile upon a person's death. If a user chooses to memorialize their account, all privacy settings will be left as when the user was alive. However, there are steps that the Facebook user must take while living to ensure that their wishes are honored.
• Dictate, on Facebook, whether you would like to have your account memorialized or permanently removed, by adjusting your settings. (If choosing permanently removed, stop here.)
• Set privacy setting to allow either static content or offer friends the ability to share memories on the wall.
• Assign a legacy contact, a Facebook friend who can administer the memorialized account.
Twitter will only delete a deceased user's account. This request must come from a family member. This family member will need a copy of the death certificate and their state ID to verify identity. Additionally, if a Twitter user becomes incapacitated, the account may be deleted. In place of the death certificate, however, the person requesting deletion will need a Power of Attorney for the Twitter user.
Like Facebook, Instagram will either delete or memorialize a user's account. Memorialization of an account is the standard practice for Instagram and no special settings need to be enacted. Memorialized accounts are locked, do not appear in a public space, and cannot be logged in to. Other Instagram users are able to share photos with the memorialized account, however, and the memorialized user's posts remain. All of the work for memorialization or deletion is on the part of the family member.
• To memorialize an account, a family member simply needs to submit a request to Instagram through a memorialization portal. Proof of death, such as an obituary or news article is required.
• To request request deletion, family members should contact Instagram through their deceased person profile removal form.
Snap (previously known as Snapchat):
Snap has no official policy regarding the accounts of deceased users.
Google Properties (G-Mail, YouTube, etc.):
Google offers the Inactive Account Manager, which allows a user to designate a contact who will receive notice if an account has been inactive for a specified period of time. This contact can then delete the account or memorialize it. There are some steps now that the user must perform.
• Designate a trusted contact and length of time the account should be inactive (options range from three (3) months to one (1) year)
• Determine how much information the trusted contact receives. This can range from simply a notice that the user has been inactive to data from all of the user's accounts.